Italian designed, all alumunium, STOL aircraft

Moderator: Moderators

Rave
Pre-take off checks
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

ZU - FHD Friday - Flyday

Unread post by Rave » Sun Jul 11, 2010 8:51 pm

Last week I asked Rob Kennedy if I could "fit on" his new Savannah XL as I am planning to build one for myself. Rob did not hesitate, and offered not only a look-see-decide, but also treated me to a whole days flying with him on Friday! With the necessary flight clearance received, the day turned out to be just great for flying. I helped Rob fuel up the Savannah and "Burped the Rotax" while he did the pre-flight inspection.
ZU - FHD 1 Lanseria pre-flight.jpg
ZU - FHD 2 Whata Panel!!!.jpg
At this point I must add that I have no flying experience other than about 16hrs on weight shift back in 2004, so this was going to be huge experience for me! After take-off we routed out over Hartbeespoort Dam,
ZU - FHD 3 Harties Ifafi.jpg
did a touch-and-go at Coves but did not see Mr. Brinks' Meerkat there, and so headed off to Orient at Magaliesburg, where Rob practiced a few short landings. He was not happy with his attempts, but I am impressed with what we achieved with this little airplane! From there we headed for Rustenburg, crossing the Magalies just west (I think) of the concrete tower. Here I just realised why flying have been such an obsession with me for all my years. People who are earthbound just do not see the things you see from above.
ZU - FHD 4 What you do not see being earthbound.jpg