Mogas or Not?

The Jabiru Engine which is used in many other aircraft.

Moderator: Moderators

Willie
1k poster
1k poster
Closest Airfield: Hippo Pools
Has liked: 4 times
Been liked: 2 times

Mogas or Not?

Unread post by Willie » Wed Apr 12, 2017 8:50 am

I am new to the Jabi family. 2004 Model J400 with 3300 engine fitted with an econo kit. So far the only AVGAS was used.
Is it okay to use 95 unleaded?
ZS-UJC Hatz Bi-plane
ZS-UGS Evans VP 2
ZS-UNC & ZS- UUJ KR2
Beachcraft Musketeer ZU-VMM
ZU-EJD Thorp T-18
Jabiru J400 ZU-VHB
Zenith 601 XL ZU-DVN
Partenavia ZU-FZS
bullet
Too Tousand
Too Tousand
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Re: Mogas or Not?

Unread post by bullet » Wed Apr 12, 2017 9:26 am

Willie, don`t use mogas unless you have fuel injection. These engines are so light on fuel that the "saving" vs the risk of engine failure when using the single Bing carburettor is not worth it. Do yourself a favour and stick to avgas.
Life is too short for cheap wine or slow cars.
Willie
1k poster
1k poster
Closest Airfield: Hippo Pools
Has liked: 4 times

Unread post by Willie » Wed Apr 12, 2017 9:45 am

bullet wrote:Willie, don`t use mogas unless you have fuel injection. These engines are so light on fuel that the "saving" vs the risk of engine failure when using the single Bing carburettor is not worth it. Do yourself a favour and stick to avgas.
It is not about the saving. I need to travel 200km to buy AVGAS, at an above average price. Not convenient at all. No facility to load, offload or store the drums. What is the price of a drumpump? On my Rotax and Lycoming engines there are no problems with their carburetors.
ZS-UJC Hatz Bi-plane
ZS-UGS Evans VP 2
ZS-UNC & ZS- UUJ KR2
Beachcraft Musketeer ZU-VMM
ZU-EJD Thorp T-18
Jabiru J400 ZU-VHB
Zenith 601 XL ZU-DVN
Partenavia ZU-FZS
T4flyer
1k poster
1k poster
Closest Airfield: Lanseria

Unread post by T4flyer » Wed Apr 12, 2017 3:20 pm

Hi Willie,