RNAV - FALA

RNAV, GNSS, GPSS. Your place to discuss all aspects pertaining to Instrument Flying.

Moderator: Moderators

CliffSol
Wanna Fly
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2020 4:20 pm
Closest Airfield: Rand
Location: Johannesburg
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

RNAV - FALA

Unread post by CliffSol » Wed Feb 19, 2020 4:32 pm

Can someone enlighten me as to why I cannot get the GS to work on the VNAV let down ? I am using a G500 linked to G430 (WAAS). The nav database is up to date and I can load the RNAV procedure for Rwy 07. However when activated I cannot see any vertical guidance.
User avatar
willem nieuwenhuis
Airborne from Unmanned field
Posts: 527
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 6:00 pm
Location: margate
Has liked: 9 times
Been liked: 1 time

Re: RNAV - FALA

Unread post by willem nieuwenhuis » Fri Feb 21, 2020 10:05 am

The GPS will check its accuracy constantly and if it can’t guarantee accuracy it will not give you the VNAV . It should warn you in the MSG field.
Cessna 150 ZS-IIK Seneca ZS-MBY
Cessna 172 ZS-MTJ Maule ZS-LSV
Piper Arrow ZS-JZY Grammun Tiger ZS-NJC
Baron ZS-KLF. B35v ZS-MYN
Yak 52 ZU-CWJ
Yak52 ZU-ETX
User avatar
Hop Harrigan
1k poster
1k poster
Posts: 1115
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 7:55 pm
Has liked: 6 times
Been liked: 50 times

Re: RNAV - FALA

Unread post by Hop Harrigan » Sat Feb 22, 2020 1:45 pm

Hi Cliff,
I’m guessing your 430W doesn’t provide vertical guidance...mine only provides LNAV and I fly the RNAV using ROD manually.
Hop
There is no gravity...the Earth sucks
Trent772B
Airspeed active
Posts: 198
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2018 3:27 pm
Closest Airfield: HONG KONG
Location: Cape Town
Has liked: 3 times
Been liked: 75 times

Re: RNAV - FALA

Unread post by Trent772B » Wed Mar 25, 2020 8:29 pm

1. Your equipment isn’t Baro VNAV capable
2. You Nav Database coding doesn’t have the VNAV portion coded.
B722, B744, A320, A332, A333, A342, A343, A346, A359, Alo3, Oryx, King Air, Beech 1900, T6

Return to “Instrument Flying”