ATNS ATC Bursary Selection Process - is it fair?

Questions for Air Traffic Navigation Services.

Moderator: Moderators

csete
Tripped over wheel chock
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

ATNS ATC Bursary Selection Process - is it fair?

Unread post by csete » Sat Mar 24, 2012 2:49 pm

Hi everyone

I'm a 27 y.o. SAfrican who's been living in the UK since 2005. Have always been an ATC freak, I used to fall asleep listening to my scanner tuned into 124.5 + 126.7 hearing all the Europe-bound flights out of FAJS every night in my late-teens. I knew that airspace almost like the back of my hand... :lol: But, thanks to a bit of paternal frowning, I veered left and came to the UK to study to pursue a business career. But, times have changed and I am in control now, so I've quit my office job (I was a Business Analyst - read: lots of maths, statistics), taking a breather and have thought about going home (SA) and pursuing my real passion...yes, that is giving you guys 03L whenever you ask for it. :D

So...in September last year (2011) I applied for the ATC Bursary via the ATNS website and requested for a June-2012 intake. According to the website, the requirements are:

* Minimum age of 18
* Grade 12 with Maths and English (HG D or SG C or level 4 upwards)
* South African Citizen
* Medically fit

What I have vs what they ask for:

* 27 years old (Minimum age of 18)
* BSc (Hons) in Business Studies from a top UK university, ABB grades at A-level in highly mathematical subjects, Senior Certificate with Endorsement (and the only 'D' I got was for Afrikaans 2nd language lol) (Grade 12 with Maths and English (HG D or SG C or level 4 upwards))
* SA citizen by birth (South African Citizen)
* Excellent/Athletic fitness level (Medically fit)

....in other words, I have far better than what they ask for.